Rural Water District #4, Franklin County Annual Meeting of Participating Members January 18, 2024

Chairman Bob Ramshaw called the Annual Meeting of Participating Members to order on January 18, 2024, at 7:00 p.m. at 1506 Old Highway 50, Williamsburg, Kansas. Board Members present were Bob Ramshaw, Dave Rossman, David Reeves, Buddy Griffin, Mitch Roecker.

The Chairman welcomed all in attendance and presented proof of notice of the annual meeting. The minutes of the last Annual Meeting, held on January 19, 2023, were read to the patrons by Ellie Roecker. Dave Rossman made the motion to accept the minutes as written, Buddy Griffin seconded the motion. The motion carried 5/0.

Bob Ramshaw made a motion to approve minutes from Reorganization Meeting Minutes from January 18th, 2024. Mitch Roecker seconded, motion carried, with a 5/0 vote.

The Chairman reported that we currently have 910 active meters in the district:

- 769 Residential Meters
- 19 Pasture Meters
- 11 Religion Meters
- 5 Government Meters
- 17 Business Meters
- 14 District Meters
- 14 Active-Not Set
- 6 Free Water Meters
- 69 Ag/Utility Meters:

There were 9 new meters sold and 23 meters transferred.

The Chairman reported the highlights of the past year:

- 1. Repaired numerous line breaks and installed several valves.
- 2. The well pumped 10,558,698 gallons of water.
- 3. Bought a tractor and a brush hog to stay on top of clearing easements.
- 4. Wrights tree service did line clearing off 31 highway and Colorado Road.
- 5. The South Well house got an upgraded panel for the mission system.
- 6. Chippawa and emerald tower updated to OSHA standards.
- 7. Continuing possible replacing pipe from the intersection Florida Road and Jackson Road to Colorado Road and Old 50.
- 8. Hired Ellie Roecker in May to replace Becky Goad Since she retired.
- 9. Hired Dan Mathias from part time to full time in October.

Brian Scott from Acord & Cox reviewed the 2022-2023 financial statements with the Patrons as the accountants had a previous engagement. Requirements for the Bond threshold are 125% of net income more than the payment after you add depreciation. We reached that goal this year at 300.36%. The district's net position is \$3,243,469.00. Up \$199,401.00 from the previous year.

The Chairman answered several questions for the patrons. Bob Ramshaw made the motion to approve the annual audit. David Reeves seconded the motion. The motion was approved 5/0.

The Chairman let them know that we are still going through paperwork and talking with the engineers for the line improvement project.

We put in for government funding, we can dig a well, but we can't pump any more water than what we are now since we need a line extension. We signed papers to get our name in that hat, but it will probably take a year to get any funding or to start on it. We are trying to figure out the least amount of line we can put in to get the most done out of our money. We are still waiting for engineering reports for the route we are looking at, if we don't upsize the line, we can't push any more water out of the wells.

Lee Hendrix presented the amendment on the by-laws for the term limits that first got discussed in 2008, it is to remove language of taking out the 1 year they must take off in between term limits, anyone can run for the board or until a board member wants to resign. By adopting this we can take off the year amendment. It passed 14 out of 18 votes. Or 78%

Lee Hendrix of Stumbo, Hanson & Hendricks, LLP reported that Bob Ramshaw and Dave Rossman terms had expired. David Reeves opened the floor for the nominations of these two open positions. Motion passed. David Reeves also made a motion that the nomination seats, Buddy Griffin Seconded. Motion Passed. Lee introduced the nominations with Bob Ramshaw, Blake Jorgensen, Lynn Underwood, and Bobby Davis. David Reeves made the motion to close the nominations due to no additional candidates for the two open Board positions. That motion was seconded by Mitch Roecker and approved by those in attendance. Bob Ramshaw and Blake Jorgensen were elected as new Board members.

With no further business to discuss, Dave Rossman made the motion and David Reeves seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried 5/0. The meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Secretary - Annual Meeting January 16, 2025.