Rural Water District #4, Franklin County Annual Meeting of Participating Members January 19, 2023

Chairman Jay Atchison called the Annual Meeting of Participating Members to order on January 19, 2023 at 7:00 p.m. at 1506 Old Highway 50, Williamsburg, Kansas. Board Members present were: Jay Atchison, Randall Hermreck, Dave Rossman, and Bob Ramshaw. Mitch Roecker was absent.

The Chairman welcomed all in attendance and presented proof of notice of the annual meeting.

The minutes of the last Annual Meeting, held on January 20, 2022, were read to the patrons by Becky Goad. Bob Ramshaw made the motion to accept the minutes as written, Dave Rossman seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

The Chairman reported that we currently have 911 active meters in the District:

| Residential Meters 765 | |
|------------------------|------|
| Pasture Meters | 21 |
| Religion Meters | 11 |
| Gov't Meters | 5 |
| Business Meters | 24 |
| District Meters | 13 |
| Active-Not Set | 15 - |
| Free Water Meters | 6 |
| Ag/Utility Meters: | 53 |
| | |

There were 5 new meters sold and 26 meters transferred. There were 2 forfeited meters.

The Chairman reported the highlights of the past year:

- 1. We now take online bill payment.
- 2. Added mixer at Milliken Tower.
- 3. Updated our mapping system.
- 4. Continued to clear easements.
- 5. Repaired numerous line breaks and installed several valves.
- 6. The well pumped 10,442,000 gallons of water. This saved us \$33,975.00 versus buying from Ottawa.

1

- 7. David Rossman replaced Jerry Jones on the Board. Jerry resigned for health reasons.
- 8. Annual water loss was 8.8%

Chairman, Jay Atchison reviewed the 2021-2022 financial statements with the Patrons as the accountants had a previous engagement. Requirements for the Bond threshold are 1.25% of net income more than the payment after you add depreciation. We reached that goal this year at 2.42%. The District's net position is \$3,044,068.00. Up \$94,690.00 from the previous year.

The Chairman answered several questions for the patrons. Dave Rossman made the motion to approve the annual audit. Bob Ramshaw seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

A patron asked that the approved minutes and agenda be posted on the District website. The Board asked Becky to check into that. Another asked about the line improvement project. The Chairman let them know that no decision has been made at this time.

Lee Hendrix of Stumbo, Hanson & Hendricks, LLP reported that Jay Atchison and Randy Hermreck's terms had expired. Lee introduced the nominations with David Reeves, Buddy Griffin, and Lynn Underwood. Lloyd McClure made the motion to close the nominations due to no additional candidates for the two open Board positions. That motion was seconded by Butch Riddle and unanimously approved by those in attendance. David Reeves and Buddy Griffin were elected as new Board members.

With no further business to discuss, Bob Ramshaw made the motion and Dave Rossman seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 7:35 p.m.

Buddy Al

Secretary - Annual Meeting 2023